Skip navigation

This past Sunday I went to Everland. It is an amusement park in Yongin that all my kids always talk about going to. Unless they’re lying, every one of my kids has been to Everland twenty times this year. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I was pleasantly suprised. Everland has a few really big roller coasters that wouldn’t be out of place in a Six Flags. My favorite was the T Express; a roller coaster that Everland claims is the steepest wooden coaster in the world. The rest reminded me of more legitimate looking carnival rides. Attractions like “The Viking” come to mind.
Even though I was surrounded by Korean families, I felt like I was back home. It reminded me of summer carnivals and going to Six Flags with friends. It was exactly what I needed to cure my recent homesickness.
Something that was really astounding was how inexpensive everything inside the park was – especially the food. I’m so used to overpriced water bottles and food that I was shocked to see $2 slushies and lunch sets under $10. Also, all the souvenir shops were reasonably priced. If I was a little kid, I would’ve cleaned the place out without bankrupting my parents. This is not unusual in Korea – businesses don’t take advantage of their customers. It is a courtesy I can really appreciate.
I must also note, that regardless of how “American” Everland felt with all the Burger Cafes and snow cones, the Buttered Squid stands quickly brought me back to reality.
5 Comments

  1. The setting for this looks really cool……the roller coaster literally looks like it’s deep in a forest-y terrain…..I’m sure it’s more accessible than it looks, but the visual is very interesting!

    • yeah! It’s very unsettling being out of the plains!!
      Even the park itself was staggered, because it’s such a mountainous area…there were some really steep hills we had to walk up and down on to get around the whole park. But I will agree, it is more appealling visually!!

  2. Holy Christmas, that place looks awesome! Buttered squid…I’m licking my lips just thinking about it. That is so weird that the food is normal prices, I guess I’m also so used to getting ripped off with stuff like that. It’s sad that we expect it. You are going to be home so soon! Hopefully our time will intersect, and I will send you a way longer thing explaining every detail of my new adventure.

    Miss you!

    PS: It’s weird how the new people we meet are really just shades of people we’ve already known. I have met 2 girls in Bend now that have the same delivery and sardonic humor that you do, and all I do is miss you when I hear them make jokes. For $5, I’ll…

    • It’s so true…everyone I meet just reminds me of people I already know. I’m really excited, our summers might intersect..so I might actually get to see you and catch up.

      And I was shocked at the not getting ripped off part of Everland. It’s so refreshing. I’m used to everything being so cheap and fair here, I’m in for a rude awakening when I go back to the US.

      But don’t think I’m letting you off the hook… I still expect the gazillion questions I asked you to be answered. haha…I miss you girlfriend 🙂

  3. I love these pics! so much more scenic than gurnee and six flags! It reminds me of the Wizard of Oz poppy fields!


Leave a Reply

